Centre’s new faceless assessment scheme: Features and exceptions

NEW DELHI: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Thursday unveiled ‘Transparent Taxation – Honoring the Honest’ platform in order to “reform and simplify our tax system.” During the launch of tax platform, he stated that honest taxpayers play important role in national development.
“The new platform launched has major reforms like faceless assessment, faceless appeal and taxpayers charter. Faceless assessment and taxpayers charter have come into force from today,” PM Modi added.
“The facility of faceless appeal will be available for citizens across the country from September 25. Today as the tax system is becoming faceless, it is giving confidence to the taxpayer of fairness and fearlessness,” the Prime Minister further mentioned.
Here are key things to know about the faceless assessment scheme:
* Selection is done through system using data analytics and artificial intelligence;
* Abolition of territorial jurisdiction;
* Automated random allocation of cases;
* Central issuance of notices with document identification number (DIN);
* No physical interface and need to visit income tax office;
* Team-based assessments and review;
* Draft assessment order in one city, review in another and finalisation in the third city
* Cases relating to serious fraud, major tax evasion, sensitive and search matter:
* International tax:
* Black Money Act and benami property